13 Responses to Sign the petition

  1. cafreeb1 says:

    I’ve signed it and we are almost there for the four hundred signatures. This needs passing around so thanks for posting it on your blog.

    • Expat in CA says:

      Agreed. Like I said in my post, I don’t hold out much hope for FATCA to be revoked, but I do think that there’s a good chance that it will be swept under the carpet once US politicians start to realize how huge and far-reaching the unintended consequences will be.

  2. cafreeb1 says:

    I’ve had my husband sign as well. I wanted him to include the fact that we divested his RRSP of any U.S. holdings.

  3. CA Freeb says:

    I’ve been in contact with the woman who started the petition. She is at Occupy Toronto today but, is going to try and call in tonight to the radio show. Also, she is planning to personally deliver the signatures to D.C. I volunteered to go with her and to try and get a group to perhaps go together. We’re going to be in contact and hopefully this will lead to further actions. If she is able to call in or listen directly from Occupy that will be fantastic as it will allow others there who might be duals to get involved in this issue! I wanted for the Canadian version of Occupy to include this issue and it’s fantastic that she is involved so actively in Toronto. She seems very interested in further direct action. Lovely person to talk to and very responsive. The signatures are up to 384 last I looked!

    • Expat in CA says:

      I do think that it’s important for OccupyCanada to acknowledge FATCA, although I understand that it’s perhaps not “on the radar” for most Canadians.

      • redandmad says:

        On Nov. 10/11 I wrote a comment that was not posted and apparently after all of this time it is still “under consideration”. How’s that for freedom of speech. Btw, I did not post offensive material. So this is a tainted site as far as I’m concerned if you can’t speak your mind and your being monitored.

      • Expat in CA says:

        I’m really sorry. I had family visiting and I was “offline” for quite a while. Comment moderation is the default setting on WordPress, but I’ll change it now.

  4. redandmad says:

    Go Canada Go! Let’s get organized. I just mailed all of my MP’s, the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, the Privacy Commissioner of BC, The Ombudsman of Banking, Jim Flaherty, John Baird, the President of RBC, the President of North Shore Credit Union and sold all of my US dollars, stocks, and cut up my US Dollar credit card. And that is just today. I plan to do all I can to educate people about the evil of the IRS, the Federal Reserve, and the US Government. I will never go to the US again or buy any of their products again. (Glad I bought my Apple before). Please don’t stop the effort. I was born an American but I came to Canada a baby. I never asked anything of them and they shouldn’t ask anything of me. Isn’t slavery illegal anyway? Interestingly Canada ruled that it was illegal for Eritrea to tax it’s citizens for life in 2007. Isn’t that a precedent? We absolutely have to start a Class Action. The response would be world news and the lawyer(s) would be stars.

  5. redandmad says:

    Dear “Expat in CA” , thank you for responding and explaining the delay in posting. I apologize for the misunderstanding.

Leave a Reply

